Log in


Occupational Therapy Association of Oregon

Log in

Task Force Members & History

OTAO Creates Diversity Equity Inclusion Task Force

The Occupational Therapy Association of Oregon (OTAO) is acting on its statement made in early June regarding racial injustices and systemic racism that continue to permeate culture.

The Occupational Therapy Association of Oregon (OTAO) stands in solidarity with all people who are impacted by racial disparity, oppression, and bigotry. Recent events -- the senseless deaths of George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery and Breonna Taylor -- have, once again, brought to light the intensity and depth of racism that permeates our communities and culture. We denounce all forms of hatred, violence and disrespect toward human beings. Our stance is consistent with AOTA's statement on justice and racism, which can be found here.

The OTAO Board of Directors has taken further action and approved to create a Task Force on Diversity, Equality and Inclusion. We are committed to making changes individually as board members, at the association level and statewide. We are looking to partner with Oregon OT practitioners (OT/OTA) and students, volunteers, stakeholders and members to create positive and necessary change.

The OTAO Board of Directors thanks all those who completed our questionnaire by July 14th! We received a great amount of responses and will be announcing our chairpersons and task force shortly. Our plan is to have at least 2 Chairperson's and 6-12 Task Force Members from diverse backgrounds and experiences to lead Oregon OT practitioners and students in creating change for equality. This opportunity is NOT limited to OTAO members and the work of the Task Force will be supported by the OTAO Board of Directors.

The 'attached' document Proposal for OTAO Task Force, which received Board approval on June 30, 2020, specifies a comprehensive framework for the task force to complete its charge. Announcements regarding recruitment of task force co-chairs and members are forthcoming.

Task Force Chair

Elizabeth Martin (Dedication)

Task Force Members

Kebra Rogers

Katie-Ann Kailey

Mia Hughey

Alan Harris

Dan Garrison

Shannon Wagner

Mara Erb

Fallon Roderick

Brittany Behrendt

Erin Taylor

Lindsey Hoffman

Kelsey Koll

Stacey Vieyra-Braendle

Claudia Anukam

Johanka Lacolucci

Karen Peasley

Janvi Patel

Juliet Paul Naone

Tess Sorensen

Ashley Rigas

Savel Sabol

Nicole Villegas

Donate            Contact Us     

Phone:  (971) 266-4328     Address:   PO Box 86231, 5010 SE Foster Road, Portland, OR  97286

Site Map       Official Privacy Policy       Functional Privacy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software